

## May 6, 2007

## Issue No. 12 - District Conference Highlights

## **Today's Schedule of Events**

8 a.m. - Memorial Service - Savannah Room C 8:40 a.m. - Plenary Session III - Savannah Room C 9:45 a.m. - Breakfast Buffet, followed by Plenary Session IV - Savannah Rooms A/B



Recognizing DGN Kenan Kern and his wife Beth as Major Donors to The Rotary Foundation are John Osterlund, general manager of The Rotary Foundation, and Rudolph Horndler, RI President Bill Boyd's representative to our district conference and a Rotary Foundation trustee. "As Major Donors, you are among a committed group of people dedicated to helping others," said Mr. Horndler. "Contributions like yours enable Rotary to carry out an array of programs throughout the world."



Encouraging Rotarians to "be the change that you wish to see in the world and continue to 'Lead the Way,'" Beth Benton, far right, earned the top spot in Saturday night's high school speech contest. As winner of the contest, Beth was presented a \$1,000 scholarship. Congratulating the other participants is Kelli Simon, High School Speech Contest chair. Other winners in the contest were Callie Meadows, the first runner up who garnered a \$750 scholarship, and Rachel Burk, the second runner up who was presented a \$500 scholarship.



Nancy White of the Macon Rotary Club is this year's Rookie of the Year. PDG Albert Reichert Jr. said Nancy "really did give a boost to the Macon Rotary Club" with her service as chair of the club's International Service Committee, in addition to other responsibilities. "It's been a great experience and I look forward to many more years," said Nancy after receiving the honor.



An elated Karen Brooks is congratulated on being the 2008 Mercury Mariner Hybrid raffle winner. Karen is from Milledgeville.

## **District** Awards

Literacy Awards: Augusta, Augusta West, Centerville, Claxton, Cochran, Downtown Macon, Dublin, Eastman, Fitzgerald, Greater Byron, Jones County, Macon, Metter, Milledgeville, Millen, Savannah, Savannah Sunrise, Savannah West, St. Simons Island, Skidaway Island, Tifton, Valdosta Sunrise, Warner Robins

**RI Presidential Citation for Literacy Projects**: Dublin, Greater Byron, Macon, Millen, Savannah Sunrise, Skidaway Island

**Outstanding Service for Literacy**: Dublin, Greater Byron, Centerville, Macon, Savannah Sunrise, Skidaway Island, Valdosta Sunrise

Club Service: Valdosta Sunrise (small, winner); Wrightsville (small, runner-up); Augusta West and Metter (medium, winners); Skidaway Island (medium, runner-up); Dublin (large, winner); Warner Robins (large, runner-up)

**Porter Carswell Community Service**: Wrightsville (small, winner); Augusta South and Centerville (small, runnersup); Perry (medium, winner); Sandersville (medium, runner-up); Dublin (large, winner); Warner Robins, Milledgeville and Macon (large, runnersup)

Vocational Service: Wrightsville (small, winner); Augusta South (small, runnerup); Skidaway Island (medium, winner); Richmond Hill (medium, runner-up); Dublin (large, winner); Warner Robins (large, runner-up)

International Service: Augusta South and Kings Bay (small, winners): Wrightsville (small, runner-up); Metter (medium, winner); Richmond Hill and Skidaway Island (medium, runners-up); Dublin (large, winner); Brunswick (large, runner-up)



Dr. Jack Bass, vice president and director of Coin for Alzheimer's Research Trust (CART) is presented a check in the amount of \$3,500 by PDG Jim Puryear on behalf of the Augusta Rotary Club.



Bringing wishes for success and prosperity, members of the Group Study Exchange Team from Korea shared their country's national anthem with us last night. Members of the team include Rotarian Dong Myung Yoo, the team leader; Bong Jeh Oh, Jeong-Ki Kang, Kyeong Moon and Jaehyun Kwon. "We keep your country in our hearts," said Dong Myung Yoo.



Georgia Rotary Student Program participants for 2006-07 gave a song and dance presentation during Saturday evening's banquet. Their theme of peace was echoed in poems, song and messages of gratitude for the GRSP, which works to bridge cultural differences to unite students for a common goal. Members of the district's GRSP class of 2006-07 are Pablo Agurcia of Honduras; Ricardo Buitrago, Marcela Del Portillo, Carolina Duque, Sara Latorre, Claudia Ramirez, Alfredo Santos and Habib Siman, all of Colombia; Axel Cronert, Niklas Hed, Sebastian Lindqvist, Nadine Pauve and Anna Strom, all of Sweden; Jonathan Lowert of Denmark, Maximillian Michels of Germany and Tamas Nemeth and Dora Szucs, both of Hungary.